Sign in

Committee contacts

Committee Chairperson

Sandra Azocar

Local 006
Committee Member

Alicia Salon

Local 056
Committee Member

Cecilia Fernandes

Local 002
Committee Member

Carol Mammel

Local 095
Committee Member

Julie Woodford

Local 054
Committee Member

Rita Bains

Local 002
Committee Member

Pamela Foyle

Local 095
Staff Advisor

Sharleen Patterson

Staff Admin

Jami Payne

Committee news

Page component

Prairie School for Union Women

Text only block

Thank you to all members who applied; please note applications are now closed. Applicants who have submitted will be reviewed for selection and approval to attend the Prairie School for Union Women 2023. The successful candidates approved for funding by the AUPE Women's Committee will be advised by April 30, 2023.


The Prairie School for Union Women offers trade union women an intensive four days of ­learning and sharing in a supportive environment. The goals of the school are to develop ­women’s personal and leader­ship skills and to build ­solidarity among women workers. Whether you are a woman who is a long-time activist or just starting to get involved in your union, this school is open to you.

For more information about the SFL 2023 Prairie School for Union Women, download the brochure.

Duties of the Women's Committee

Text only block

AUPE’s Constitution sets out the duties of the Women’s Committee as follows:

The Women’s Committee shall:

  1. educate and promote awareness to the members and the public on equality, discrimination, current and related issues especially as they relate to women;
  2. encourage and support involvement of Women in Union activities, events and educational;
  3. promote involvement and support by AUPE members-at-large and communities of women’s issues;
  4. co-operate with, liaise with, and lobby other organizations and various levels of government addressing women’s issues;
  5. prepare and present policies, briefs and information on issues of concern;
  6. initiate action and participate in meetings, conferences, conventions and educational courses on issues of concern to women and co-ordinate these with other committees and organizations; and
  7. establish a resource base on women’s issues including but not limited to, discrimination and equality.

Join the Fight to End Period Poverty!

Text only block

Paying for menstrual products can add up! 

In fact, one in three Canadians who need menstrual products struggle to afford them.

But the cost is even greater for people who menstruate when combined with systemic issues like low incomes, unaffordable housing, and economic instability.    

That’s why the AUPE Women’s Committee is fighting to End Period Poverty in Canada by:

  • Collecting menstrual products at AUPE meetings & events to donate to organizations that support vulnerable Albertans.
  • Lobbying AHS to make sure menstrual products are available at all AHS-funded health care facilities.
  • Pushing for legislation that will make period products free for all Canadians who need them.

DOVE Award

Text only block

The Dove Award Resolution was passed at AUPE’s 25th Convention 2001 and the award was presented for the first time on March 8th, 2002, to coincide with the recognition of International Woman’s Day.

The annual DOVE Award stands for Day of Validation and Equity, and it honors women AUPE members for their outstanding contributions to the betterment of women, AUPE members and all Albertans.

This year's DOVE Award was presented to Laura Johnstone of Local 046.

Do you know someone who might deserve next year’s DOVE Award? Stay tuned for an announcement at the end of the year to find out when nominations open, the deadline to apply and other important details.

DOVE Award - Past Recipients

Text only block

Julie Cromarty, Local 042

Mary Sillito, Local 001

Tracy Quinton, Local 052
Shauna Warrilow, Local 046

Bonnie Nahornick, Local 069

Roseline Bouchie, Local 001

Linda Soluk, Local 069

Mary Kehoe, Local 049

Liberty Pestano, Local 049

Linda Laminman, Local 003

Myrna Wright, Locals 044 & 041

Maureen Braun, Local 006

Shelley Brooker, Local 048

Joanne MacLean, Local 003

Terrie Wispinski, Local 012

Debbie Arcand, Local 047

Mary Lou Savic, Local 043

Ramza Gebran, Local 095

Audrey Randall, Local 001

Lea Schmidt, Local 002

Shamanthi Cooray, Local 006