Sign in

Committee contacts

Committee Chairperson

James Gault

Local 099, Local 003
Staff Advisor

Zoey Jones

Committee Member

Theo Voaklander

Local 054
Committee Member

Oscar Jara

Local 095
Committee Member

Nellie Alcaraz

Local 006
Committee Member

Paulette Gillespie

Local 118
Committee Member

Nancy Burton

Local 045
Committee Member

Jennifer Power

Local 043
Committee Member

Laura Sadler

Local 095
Committee Member

Bruce Macdonald

Committee Member

Elaine Cairns

Local 002
Committee Member

James Sullivan

Local 095
Staff Admin

Tammy Tangedal

Committee news

Page component

Duties of the Committee on Political Action

Text only block

AUPE’s Constitution sets out the duties of the Committee on Political Action as follows:

The Committee on Political Action shall:

  1. review the social and political practices and interests of the Union and promote the education and social action of the members as they relate to the interests of the Union on matters of political concern;
  2. promote the union related political education of the membership;
  3. encourage and promote the social action and political participation of members in order to further the interests of the Union;
  4. act on behalf of members in matters of concern to them relating to the political process;
  5. recommend priorities from time to time for the Union’s activities in the area of political education; and
  6. shall actively pursue election reform to achieve a fair system of proportional representation for Alberta voters.